Week 4 (Class Task)

During the second class of week 4, we were instructed to carry out a task where we would each construct a model of a structure which included elements of the chosen ritual. We had a short amount of time to complete the task and were only allowed to use one A4 sheet of paper. Once we had made a model of our own ritual it was up to a classmate to then construct a model of our own chosen ritual in a unique way to what had previously been done.

Above, is the model that I constructed.

Above, is the model that my colleague constructed.

Reflection of the task:

The model that I had constructed had a loose yet entertaining format as it harnessed the dynamic behind the flow of fabric. However, it did miss out on aspects structure. Although structure or frame is not necessary for the process of constructing a site intervention, it does broaden my approach as I continue with my research and developing ideas. The model that my classmate had created had a strong form and focused on including a simple passageway separated by a curtain. However, my idea served more like an isolation box separating the outside world by curtains. The whole task that we completed was very valuable to the idea generating process and helped me broaden my ideas going forward.

Leave a comment

Website Powered by WordPress.com.

Up ↑